…to the flats

My first crit of the year and it didn’t end tragically. For me, that’s a win!!

And now you may be wondering what a crit is. Well, it’s short for criterium and Wikipedia explains it like this: 

criterium, or crit, is a bike race held on a short course (usually less than 1 mile), often run on closed-off city center streets.

Race length can be determined by a number of laps or total time, in which case the number of remaining laps is calculated as the race progresses. Generally the event’s duration (commonly one hour) is shorter than that of a traditional road race — which can last many hours, sometimes over the course of several days or even weeks, as in a Grand Tour. However, the average speed and intensity are appreciably higher. The winner is the first rider to cross the finish line without having been “lapped.”

Jenny (our DS) wanted the team to go hard right from the gun and so we did. Amélie took the lead right from the line and accelerated the group from zero to 30km/h in about 10 seconds, around a corner none-the-less. We had 4 girls riding for the team at the GP Brossard crit in the rain. The plan, well went according to plan. Emily would attack, then Carrie, then I, and then all back through again. It keeps the pressure on the pack and it also keeps the pack spread out.

 Image

The group split after about 4 or 5 laps. Carrie and I were up in the from pack with about 5 other riders. Alizée Brien (Team Tibco) and Kristi Lay (Mazda – SAS) were in the bunch too. 

Image

 

In the end, we finished 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th (myself, Carrie, Emily and Amélie). I’ve got to say that it makes a huge difference riding when you have teammates, opposed to individual riding. 

Image

I’m not an exceptional crit racer because I lack experience. This lack of experience is going to soon end as Stevens – The Cyclery men and women riders will be doing the weekly crits in Ottawa. There are also the Lachine crits which the team in Quebec will be doing.

I know that I am learning so many new things about racing and training as my season goes… and it’s really only just started. There is no greater satisfaction then seeing a teammate have a breakthrough moment in a race, podium (or win!) or come off the course feeling amazing and strong. I love the atmosphere in and out of the peloton and I am so looking forward to racing more with this wonderful team!!

 

I’d also like to make mention of support I have received in the past few weeks. Thanks to the Saint John Canada Games Foundation Inc. and also to Mark Webster of Scotia McLeod Financial. Without this financial support, I wouldn’t be able to continue racing at this level. I am so fortunate to have this opportunity and I will make the best of what I have!! 

 

Until next time, eat, sleep and pedal! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

